Cagle receives Taylor Moore Scholarship at NAHS

Taylor Moore Scholarship
Sam Cagle, 2017 Taylor Moore Scholarship winner.
June 19th, 2017     City schools Community

Sam Cagle was awarded the Taylor Moore Memorial Scholarship at the New Albany High School graduation ceremony on May 19, 2017.  The $5,000 competitive scholarship is given each year to a deserving NAHS student who plans to attend college in Mississippi.  The scholarship selection process includes criteria relating to character, GPA, extracurricular activities, written essay, and an interview by a selection committee.

Sam is the son of Jeff and Kathryn Cagle.   He is a member of First Baptist Church where he participated in Bible Drill and served as a volunteer for Vacation Bible School, Kids’ Church, and Mega Sports Camp.  Sam plans to attend Mississippi State University this fall and pursue his studies in Biological Sciences.

An honor graduate, Cagle was STAR Student, Salutatorian, and selected into the NAHS Hall of Fame.   He was a member of the National Honor Society, FBLA, Spanish Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and National Technical Honor Society.  Cagle served as a Vision mentor, has been involved with the Union County Leadership Academy, and attended Boys State.

Cagle, a two-sport athlete, lettered in football and basketball.  He was selected to the All Division 2-4A football team and was the basketball team’s leading rebounder.  He was the school winner for the Lindy Callahan Award and the Wendy’s High School Heisman.

The Taylor Moore Scholarship was established by Bobby and Minerva Moore in memory of their son who died in 2000.  Taylor Moore was a 1988 honor graduate of W.P. Daniel High School.  He was Mr. DHS, Most Popular, Most Dignified, and Class Favorite and was active in student government.  Moore played first base for the DHS baseball team, and received numerous academic honors.  He went on to receive his bachelors and masters degrees in business administration from Mississippi State University.

The scholarship established in his memory has been awarded for thirteen years to outstanding graduates of New Albany High School.  Past recipients of the Taylor Moore Scholarship are Stacy Stepp, Darden Holmes, Kyle Kimbrough, Ivy Lauren Williams, Kyle Hickey, Callie Creekmore, Taylor Goode, Josh Creekmore, Olivia Dunnam, Lauren Cavender, Jack Hickey, and Meghan Van.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source