Homestead Exemption and personal property reminder

March 4th, 2020     Government & Politics

The Union County Tax Assessor’s Office is accepting applications for homestead exemptions through April 1.   Those that had any type deed change in 2019 such as a new home owner, turned 65, have become 100 percent disabled, divorced, widowed, remarried, or moved residence should contact the Tax Assessor’s office at 534-1972.

Those who received the homestead exemption in 2019 and have not had a change of residence or status don’t need to seek a new exemption.  Those filing for the first time should bring Social Security numbers for themselves and spouses, Mississippi vehicle license plate numbers, and copy of deed.

 

Business owners should also file personal property renditions by April 1 to avoid a state mandated 10 percent penalty.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source
%d bloggers like this: