Three more qualify for New Albany municipal election

NEMiss.News Vote
January 13th, 2021     Government & Politics


Two more incumbents and one challenger have qualified to run for office in this year’s New Albany municipal elections. This means there are now candidates for every city office.

As of Tuesday afternoon, there were 14 candidates with the shortened qualifying period about half over. The deadline is 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 5.

Incumbent mayor Tim Kent, running as a Republican for the first time, is being challenged by Democrat James Dean and Republican Chuck Garrett.

Incumbent chief of police Chris Robertson, a Republican, is the only candidate in his race.

Incumbent Republican alderman-at-large Keith Conlee is being challenged by Independent J. Lynn West.

The seat for Ward One alderman is vacant since incumbent Amy Livingston has chosen not to seek re-election. Vying for the post are all Republicans, Mark Bishop, Benjie Foley and Ashley Kidd.

The Ward Two alderman’s seat is vacant in that long-time incumbent Johnny Anderson is retiring from the city board. Competing for that post are Democrat Tim Johnson and Republican Drew Horn.

In Ward Three, only incumbent Democrat Kevin Dale White has qualified.

Ward Four incumbent Republican Will Tucker is being challenged by Ronnie Parker, also a Republican.

To run for city office one must be a qualified elector and resident of the city or ward, for aldermen, at least two years. Party candidates must pay a $10 fee and submit a statement of intent. Independent candidates pay no fee but need a petition signed by 50 qualified electors in support of being placed on the ballot.

The Democratic and Republican primaries will be held Tuesday, April 6, with a runoff, if needed, April 27.

The primary determines party nominees to be on the general election ballot but at this point a Democratic primary is not needed because there are no more than one candidate in any race.

For now, the only Republican primary that might result in a runoff is for Ward One alderman with three candidates.

Based on the past voting numbers New Albany has about 5,100 registered voters. Ward One is smallest with about 1,200 voters. Ward Four is largest with 1,400 and Wards Two and Three have between 1,250 and 1,300 voters registered. The voter turnout four years ago was low at only about 22 percent.

Blue Springs, Myrtle and all other state municipalities will hold elections as well.

The general election will be Tuesday, June 8.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source