Union County 2019 Primary Election results

New Albany MS 2019 Primary election results
A portion of the crowd awaiting election results in the Circuit Courtroom
August 7th, 2019     Government & Politics

The 2019 Primary Election results for Union County MS are as follows.

In the Union County Sheriff’s race, incumbent Democrat Jimmy Edwards had 1954 votes (76.24%) against Danny Dillard’s 592 votes (23.15%) in the Democrat primary. Edwards will face Ashley Kidd (R) , 2601 votes (55.67%), who defeated (R)  Brandon Garrett, 1970 votes (42.17%) in the Republican primary.

In the State Senate District 3 race’s Republican Primary Kathy Chism had 2152 votes in Union County; 2817 votes district-wide. Kevin Walls had 447 Union County votes, but 2700 district-wide votes. Chism will face Walls in the August 27 run-off. Another Union County candidate, Jeff Olson (R), had 2074 Union County votes. District-wide Olson got 2342 total votes. Therefore, Olson’s Union County votes will be extremely important in the run-off results. The eventual winner of the Republican nomination will face Democrat Tim Tucker in November. Tucker, running unopposed, received 1844 Union County votes.

In Union County Supervisor races

  • District 1 Incumbent Evan Denton got 201 votes (29.6%) in the Democratic primary. He will face Democratic challenger Sam Taylor  who got 218 votes (32.11%)in the August 27 run-off. Three other candidates in this race received a total 260 votes in the Democratic primary. How those votes are redistributed in the run-off will determine the winner of the Democratic nomination. The Democrat run-off winner will face Jerry Burke in the November general election. He received 659 votes in the Republican primary.
  • District 2 incumbent, Chad Coffey (D) received 730 versus Jim Gann’s (R) 715 votes. They will face each other in the general election.
  • District 3 Incumbent Democrat Dave Kitchens was defeated in the Republican primary by C J Bright, who had 843 votes versus 690 votes for Kitchens. Both Kitchens and Bright ran for the same job in the 2015 Democratic Primary. Neither got a majority in the first primary. In the Democratic run-off in 2015, Kitchens defeated Bright by a single vote and is still serving that four-year term to which he was elected as a Democrat. However, on January 2, 2019, Kitchens signed on at the Union County Circuit Clerk’s office to run for the District 3 supervisor position as a Republican. C J Bright filed to run for the same job, also on the Republican ticket, on January 15. Nobody filed for the job as a Democrat this year, so Bright will succeed Kitchens on the county board in January 2020. This corrects an earlier version of this story in which NAnewsweb.com erroneously reported that Bright ran as a Republican in 2015.
  • District 4 incumbent Randy Owen (D) defeated Keith Roberts in the Democratic primary 294 votes (62%) to    179 votes (38%). He will face Junior Courtney (R) in the general election.
  • District 5 incumbent Democrat Steve Watson had no primary opponent, nor does he have and opponent on the November ballot.

Candidates winning their primary election and facing no opponent in November are:

  • State Rep. District 14, Sam Creekmore (R) defeated Robbins Ellis Rogers (R) by 3152 votes (72%) to 1234 votes (28%).
  • Coroner, Pam Boman (D) incumbent defeated Gabriel Wilson (D), 1994 votes (84%) to 378 votes (16%).
  • 3rd District Supervisor, C J Bright (R) defeated incumbent Dave Kitchens (D). See above for totals.

Nine Union County candidates were elected without opposition in either their primary or in the November general election:

  • Circuit Clerk, Phyllis Stanford (D)
  • Chancery Clerk, Anette Hickey (R)
  • Tax Assessor, Tameri Duncan (D)
  • Pros. Attorney, Joe Davis (R)
  • 5th District Supervisor, Steve Watson (D)
  • Justice Court Judge East, David Garrison (D)
  • Justice Court Judge West, Chris Childers (D)
  • Constable West, Ronnie Goudy (D)
  • State Rep. District 18, Jerry Turner (R)

As of 1:00 AM Wednesday morning, according to the Associated Press, Tate Reeves had 179,065 votes (49%). William Waller, Jr. had 122,234 votes (33%). Robert Foster had 65,178 votes (18%). However 3% of the vote is still uncounted. Although the unofficial vote count was not complete in a close election — with the strong chance of a Republican gubernatorial run-off on Aug. 27 — AP apparently decided to stop reporting further results and presumably closed up shop for the night. Reeves would need 50% plus one vote of the total votes cast to avoid a run-off with Bill Waller for the Republican nomination. If the same percentages apply (49-33-18) to the remaining 11,000 or so votes, Reeves would still fall short of 50 percent and a run-off would still result.

Presumably, the Associated Press will start reporting again during the business day on Wednesday, Nov. 7. It’s worth noting that major news organizations from the New York Times to those as small as the Jackson Clarion-Ledger are relying upon only one source of actual reporting — the Associated Press. With three percent of the vote uncounted, the AP presumed to declare that there will be a run-off on Aug. 27.

All vote vote totals listed in 2019 Primary Election results are unofficial, but include affidavits and absentee ballots.

November 2019 General Election results: https://www.nemiss.news/edwards-coffey-owen-retain-county-offices-chism-going-to-senate/

Primary Run-off Election results: https://www.nemiss.news/union-co-primary-run-off-election-results/


Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source
%d bloggers like this: