City schools announce teachers of the year

teachers of year
The Teachers of the Year and the Administrator of the Year from the New Albany School District were formally recognized at the January 13th School Board Meeting. Pictured front row l-r: Ninabeth Capaning, New Albany Elementary School Teacher of the Year; Sara Garrett, New Albany High School Teacher of the Year & District Teacher of the Year; Chelsea Hamilton, New Albany Middle School Teacher of the Year; back row l-r: Rick Robbins, School of Career & Technical Education Teacher of the Year; Gwyn Russell, Principal of New Albany Elementary School, Administrator of the Year; and Collin Stubblefield, NASTUC Teacher of the Year.
January 17th, 2020     City schools Featured

The New Albany school board honored the teachers and administrator of the year at Monday’s January meeting.

Sara Garrett was named both teacher of the year for the high school and district teacher of the year. She is now eligible to compete for the state teacher of the year title as a result.

Elementary principal Gwyn Russell was selected administrator of the year.

Chelsea Hamilton is middle school teacher of the year. Ninabeth Capaning is elementary school teacher of the year. Rick Robbins is teacher of the year for the career and technical school and Collin Stubblefield is teacher of the year for the alternative school.

Each was presented with a trophy and cash award in conjunction with the Toyota Wellspring Education Fund. Vice-President Dr. Kristy Luse was present to represent the fund for the award presentation.

Also in the brief meeting, Director of Accounting Services Suzanne Coffey gave her monthly report, reminding the board that this is the time of year when the fund balance is always the lowest due to the lag as taxes for the new year begin to come in.

Halfway through the school year, she said, revenue collection is at 31.9 percent of budget and expenses are at 42.47 percent. The reserve fund remains in good shape at $1.6 million and expenses are in line with budgeted amounts.

Only five personnel items were on the agenda:

  • Trustees approved the resignation of Adam Preston as teacher at the middle school effective Jan. 17.
  • Trustees approved the resignation of Dale Franklin as bus driver for the district effective Jan. 10.
  • Trustees approved naming Summer Tyer assistant softball coach at the high school.
  • Trustees approve Kimberly Cameron as bus driver for the district replacing Dale Franklin.
  • Trustees approved current additions to the substitute list.

In other business board members approved a change order for work at the middle school, an updated policy on use of district-owned vehicles by persons on call 24 hours a day and an update to board policy on tuition for out-of-district students to include kindergarten.

A request was approved for the child nutrition department to advertise for cafeteria equipment for the elementary, middle and high schools, and trustees also discussed other materials purchases and possible improvements to Kitchens Field.

The next meeting of the city school board will be at 5:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 3 in the boardroom at the central office. However, board members will tour the alternative school prior to the regular board meeting.

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source
%d bloggers like this: