Everett awarded Taylor Moore Scholarship at NAHS

Maggie Jo Everett
September 14th, 2020     Schools

Maggie Jo Everett was awarded the Taylor Moore Memorial Scholarship at the New Albany High School graduation ceremony on July 31, 2020.  The $5,500 competitive scholarship is given each year to a deserving NAHS student who plans to attend college in Mississippi.  The scholarship selection process includes criteria relating to character, GPA, extracurricular activities, written essay, and an interview by a selection committee.

Maggie Jo is the daughter of Angie and Vance Yerby and the late Joseph Everett.   She is enrolled at Mississippi State University this fall and is majoring in Biochemistry/Pre-Medicine.

An honors graduate, Everett served as Student Body President and was elected to the 2020 New Albany High School Hall of Fame. She was a member of the National Honor Society, Anchor Club, Spanish Club, Future Business Leaders of America and the varsity girls’ soccer team. Everett was also involved with the School Musical throughout high school.   She was a member of the Union County Leadership Academy and a Junior Alderman. She was a Rural Medical and Science Scholar at Mississippi State University where she was awarded the Bonnie Carew Spirit of Excellence Award.

The Taylor Moore Scholarship was established by Bobby and Minerva Moore in memory of their son who died in 2000.  Taylor Moore was a 1988 honor graduate of W.P. Daniel High School.  He was Mr. DHS, Most Popular, Most Dignified, and Class Favorite and was active in student government.  Moore played first base for the DHS baseball team, and received numerous academic honors.  He went on to receive his bachelors and masters degrees in business administration from Mississippi State University.

The scholarship established in his memory has been awarded for sixteen years to outstanding graduates of New Albany High School.  Past recipients of the Taylor Moore Scholarship are Stacy Stepp, Darden Holmes, Kyle Kimbrough, Ivy Lauren Williams, Kyle Hickey, Callie Creekmore, Taylor Goode, Josh Creekmore, Olivia Dunnam, Lauren Cavender, Jack Hickey, Meghan Van, Sam Cagle, Joseph Rutherford, and RJ Rutherford.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

About NEMiss.NEWS

NEMiss.NEWS is a locally owned and operated online news magazine containing news, information, opinion, etc. of interest to residents of Northeast Mississippi. NEMiss.NEWS was founded in 2014 and is a division of Shivimage, LLC, and began publishing in early 2015. read more>>

Northeast Mississippi's Online News Source
%d bloggers like this: